Do not dwell in the past, do not dream of the future, concentrate the mind on the present moment. – Buddha

Every human being is the author of his own health or disease. – Buddha

Hatred does not cease by hatred, but only by love; this is the eternal rule. – Buddha

Holding on to anger is like grasping a hot coal with the intent of throwing it at someone else; you are the one who gets burned. – Buddha

I just finished reading Deepak Chopra’s 2007 book, Buddha – A Story of Enlightenment. It’s a fictionalized account of how Siddhartha The Prince became Gautama The Monk and ultimately Buddha. Buddha was born 563 B.C. as Siddhartha and died in 483 B.C. after spreading his message for over 40 years.

I really enjoyed the story and I feel that Deepak showed immense creativity in piecing together the few known facts about Buddha’s life into a compelling story. Deepak helped to clarify (at least in our imagination) how Buddha came to the message that he spread in the later half of his life. Buddha believed that all of humanity’s problems stemmed from the fact that we all suffer in some fashion or another.

I recommend this book if you are at all interested in Buddha’s life. Just to be clear, this is not a book about Buddhism though there is an appendix that answers questions about it. It’s primarily a story about Buddha; his birth, his life, his message and his death.

Buddha’s Four Noble Truths:

First Noble Truth: Life contains suffering
Second Noble Truth: Suffering has a cause, and the cause can be known.
Third Noble Truth: Suffering can be brought to an end.
Fourth Noble Truth: The path to end suffering has eight parts.

Buddha’s Eightfold Path:

  • Right view or perspective
  • Right intention
  • Right speech
  • Right action
  • Right livelihood
  • Right effort
  • Right mindfulness
  • Right concentration